A Heart With A Home

Poetry

“That moment we shared our first kiss,
I felt it. It was right. It was true.
My heart found its home.
And I knew you felt the same.”

When I looked up at the sky on that warm spring night, I saw misty clouds pass overhead. The full moon glowed with that faint blue I always loved. That silvery-white was all too common for a night like that. A moment with just you and me. The moment we took our first steps beyond friendship. You see, I already knew I loved you and I wanted to spend the rest of my life with you. Up until that moment, I was afraid of taking that step into the unknown. There was something about the moon that night that reassured me. That said, everything will be alright. Because you’ve found your home. A place where your heart can rest. A place where you are safe and you don’t have to be afraid any longer.

That moment we shared our first kiss, I felt it down into the very marrow in my bones. It was right. It was true. My heart found its home at last. And I knew you felt the same.

© Sarah Doughty

Thank you for giving me the best seventeen years of my life. For the honor of being your wife for fourteen of those years. And for being the best father to our child for nearly nine years. Thank you for holding me through all these years and being the rock — the best home I could have ever asked for.

5/21/2005 two hearts became one.

3 thoughts on “A Heart With A Home

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.