In Need

Poetry

“This need I have for you, it echoes,
like your lungs, when you need air.”

I watch as the moon creeps up into the night sky and I begin to wonder if you’re feeling this same sense of longing as me. I’m wondering if you feel this pull too. You know the one. Where it feels like the only thing you want in this very moment is to be in the arms of your beloved. But it’s more than a want. It’s a need, deep in the marrow in your bones. It echoes, like your lungs, when you need air. So tell me, my love. Do you feel it too? Do you miss me as much as I miss you? Like it’s an open wound and the only thing that can heal it is these hands of mine?

© Sarah Doughty
2019

Sometimes I wonder,
but deep down, somehow,
I already know the answer.
It lingers on the tip
of your tongue,
just as it does mine.

Yes.

One thought on “In Need

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.