Poetry

Beginnings And Endings

“In the beginning, it was just
you and I against the world.”

In the beginning, it was just you and I against the world. We were free then. At least, that’s what we thought.

It’s strange now. Living this way. After all these years apart.

Even now, sometimes, I think I see you in the distance. My heart stalls and stutters as we lock eyes for an instant. But then the moment ends and it’s like you’re gone all over again.

I feel my heart break in my chest each time it happens, and yet, I move on as if you were never there at all.

To say that I miss you is an understatement. To say that I still love you is a tricky subject.

Back then we were young and carefree. But we were also reckless. I’m older and wiser now. And I know I’m better off living my life on my terms.

© Sarah Doughty

17 thoughts on “Beginnings And Endings”

  1. Quote: ” I know I’m better off living my life on my terms.” Indeed, we k-n-o-w… but how those emotions can still insist on tossing us around, if only in short, violent squalls that threaten to overturn the sailboat.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. The poem could apply to many kinds of relationships, I think. Personally for me, it applies to a few old friendships that I have had in the past.
        When you wrote “To say that I still love you is a tricky subject”, that got me.
        I still don’t know how I feel about those old friends when people ask me.
        I agree with you, I wish people didn’t have to experience that. But at the same time, experience with heart ache and other such things makes a person wiser.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Love can be so complicated at times….or may be that’s how it’s supposed to be. I can completely feel you here, Sarah. What beautiful expressions of complexities that love sometimes puts us into !

    Much love !
    💓💓💓

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

