Poetry

Refractions

“You are my
moonstone,
refracting
my dreams
and making
them
a reality.
They lay my
monsters
down.”

You refract my dreams into the night sky, illuminating this dark oblivion with stars. Those constellations spell out everything I ever needed to know, reminding me that I’m so much more than I ever considered possible. I am yours, as you are mine, and that alone is enough. But you were never satisfied with enough. You pushed me to chase my dreams long past the moon, and though I still have many light years to go, you continue to prove that daring to live amongst the stars is not only possible, it is a reality. And the best part? They lay my monsters down to rest.

©  Sarah Doughty

“Lay my monsters down” comes from the lovely @wilderpoetry and it has inspired me.

28 thoughts on “Refractions”

Leave a Reply

