Poetry

Scythe – Moon Ate the Dark Challenge

My piece, “Scythe” was submitted to the Brave and Reckless blog’s Moon Ate The Dark challenge.

Brave and Reckless

The night was black, void of all stars, and not even the glow of the moon cut through it like a blue-tipped blade, devouring that obsidian nothingness like it’s next meal. That silence, where only my thoughts, breaths, and beating heart kept me company, wasn’t enough to tame that lingering sense of desperation. It ate away at me. Each second feeling like hours, and hours feeling like days, until I’d lost all sense of time. I’d never felt more alone. But after what felt like an eternity of nothing, when the last of my sanity began to slip away, the clouds parted, revealing the moon. It shone like a beacon in the abyss, and at long last, I was no longer alone.

© Sarah Doughty (or whatever signature you’d like to use)


Sarah Doughty is the tingling wonder-voice behind Heartstring Eulogies. She’s also the author of The Silence Between Moonbeams, her poetry…

View original post 33 more words

27 thoughts on “Scythe – Moon Ate the Dark Challenge”

  1. I find your moon poems comforting. They have phases and I can follow them and some I can understand in my marrow and not just my heart. Congratulations.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, no. I’m sorry you had to deal with mean people. Was that here, on WordPress?? I know it is difficult to dismiss harshness. To a fault, I’m a hot head when comes to defending my beliefs/thoughts. It’s not easy for me to walk away. Especially when I know people are being jerks for the fun of it. It’s easier said than done to just let their crap roll off your back and forget about it, so I won’t hand you a platter of platitudes. What I will give though is my constant support and love. Because you are brilliant, beautiful, intelligent, and precious. I’m happy to know you, in whatever capacity I am allowed. You’re a lovely soul, and you touch me deeply. I know you touch others, too. Focus on that, friend. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful piece!

    By the way, I finished “Focus” yesterday. Wow! Talking about the odds being stacked against them in that final battle. Especially when the demon was trying to seduce her. I was like “Ahh! No! Don’t give in, crazy girl!” 😆

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

