Eloquence In A Question #2

This is the second of, hopefully, a series of insightful question/discussion posts. See the first here.

Here’s how it works: Have a look at the question, read my answer, and then do one or both of the following: tell me your response to the same question, respond to my answer with thoughts of your own.

Question:

If there comes a day when you don’t see tomorrow, what’s something that you hope to leave behind? What would your legacy be?

Answer:

When the day comes that I’m no longer here, I hope people, especially my family, will remember me. I will leave behind an amazing little boy that is wiser than his years, who has been empathetic since before he was born. I will leave behind a husband that adores his wife and does everything he can to help me and make me happy. In the end, what will truly remain of me — a part of my soul — will be left in my words. Every poem is a little piece of me. Every piece of fiction, every book, every narrative thought, came from my essence. No matter how fantastical the story, deep down, there are real problems to solve, real issues at stake, real thoughts, emotions and trials to face. These are all things I will leave behind in this world, and I hope they will continue to inspire others and give hope, where there otherwise may not be.

How about you?

Stay tuned for the next question.

56 thoughts on “Eloquence In A Question #2

  1. I love the question and I love the answer. Indeed the souls you have touched through your words will be the proof of the legacy you will be leaving behind. And your son too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    My answer will be the same. It will be my words. Because they will stand the test of time. โค

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Another great question Sarah. I thought of a response for a long time and my mind twisted and turned and the words that came out didn’t seem to fit the question. Maybe the brain doesn’t want to consider its demise, maybe it is a question as yet unanswered. I will be reflecting on this in the coming week.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As a “Traveler” it is difficult to imagine a day without a “tomorrow” – even outside of time we use projection – but as to legacy, I don’t want anything to look back on as unpaid or unfinished. This time, for me, it’s a clean retirement from one more life on a very chaotic and unpredictable world. No one left holding the bag for any wrong action of mine; no one left owed, or owing because of me. And looking back… no one left behind, alone, sad, or empty. This time: completion. And for those who knew me, it would be a smile and a comment like, “She’s out there, doing her thing, and she’ll be back…” And then everybody is free to carry on with their own life, naturally filling the space that I occupied.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have been thinking of this a great deal lately. I have written a little here and there. My mum has people everywhere who love her dearly. It is funny, that was NOT the mom I grew up with. I may have mentioned that before. But, her legacy is huge. She has changed lives in so many places as a teacher and as someone who just seems to like people. I look at her and think I have done so little in my 50 plus years. It has been a sobering last few months. In many ways. I’d like to hope I leave something good out there. I know my boys are good things! I appreciate what you give to me when I run across your words in an email or in my reader feed. Even when it is uncomfortable!!!!

    Like

    • Don’t devalue your worth based on the accomplishments of someone else. Sure, your mom might be pretty epic in your eyes, but to your children, I’m sure you seem pretty epic to them. Thank you for the kind words, and for continously reading, even when the words aren’t easy to bear.

      Like

  5. I hope I would just leave most things a little bit better than I found them. It’s unlikely that any of us will have a legacy that someone could attach our name to more than a generation down the line, or maybe two. And it’s very rare that we have the chance to completely revolutionise a situation, or totally fix a problem. But we always have a choice in any situation: make things a little bit better, or a little bit worse. Pick up litter or drop it. Return anger for anger, or else absorb the negativity and spread a little peace. Become part of a flawed system, or file off the rough corners whenever we have the chance. I hope that over the piece I’ve done the latter.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Beautiful answer, Sarah!

    As for me and my answer….Hmm. I hope that people will remember me.

    If they choose to remember me as an awesome writer who made them laugh and cry and made them anxious for what happens in the next chapter, well. I sure wouldn’t complain about that. ๐Ÿ˜†

    If they choose to remember me as someone who always tried to look on the positive side of life and stuff in general, that would be good too.

    If they choose to remember me as a good daughter, a reliable co-worker, and someone who was always “Oh, very good!” when asked how I’m doing, can’t complain there.

    I hope that time would heal their grief and they would be able to think of me without pain.

    And, most of all, I hope that they wouldn’t forget to pray for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a great post! For my family I hope I leave behind a legacy of love – having overcome incredible adversity , and yet holding onto faith and a love for people. A Phoenix at times, but learning through the fire, to survive. And finally a simple writer who loved to write.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Turning 50 makes one very reflective. My children are 15 and 19 and are more their own at this stage of their lives than they are mine. I have thought a lot over the last year about my impact on the world, both the microcosm and the macrocosm. I realized that I was judging myself by other people’s gifts and accomplishments, not by what is uniquely mine to offer. I have felt a lot of pain in the last year, but I have been given incredible support, encouragement and mentorship. I have tried to pay that forward every time the opportunity as presented itself. I hope that my written words will live and continue to have resonance for others, but almost as importantly, I hope and believe that the love and support and mentorship that I have given out will continue to be paid forward and blossom.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. I hope that those around me would remember I cherished every moment I spent with them. Although they have no idea I lived a horror story, I managed to push it all aside and love them with all my heart soul and mind. I hope they remember me with kindness and affection and something I said triggered a moment that changed their life going forward in a positive and meaningful way.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’ll leave the thoughts I’ve said to some of the people I’ve opened up to. There’s no wonder even more glorious than being able to share a piece of yourself to other people, and being able to accept theirs too. Also, I keep a journal of my thoughts (yep, I value my thoughts THAT great). I had a deal with a friend that when one of us die, the other one should write a book about the other’s life. I think that’s beautiful.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Hmmmm… That question made me sit back and really wonder…

    I could probably fool myself into thinking I’d live on through my family and friends’ memory of me, but I think that would only be a short term “legacy”. Once my small family, and few true friends are gone too, there wouldn’t be much left of Cyranny in the world. I don’t have children to remember me by, or accomplishments that would keep my memory alive.

    My head tells me that’s ok. That I don’t have anything special or good enough to leave behind. I am not bitter about it, it’s just the way it is.

    My heart, though, hopes I’ll manage to find a way to leave a trace of my journey on Earth. To inspire or touch people after I’ve left, and maybe make at least one person think “I wish I had a chance to know her…”

    Liked by 1 person

  12. This is such an interesting question Sarah. And I love your answer. To be honest, I’m not sure what mine would be. I really have no family left except for one sister, and sadly we’re estranged. And of course there’s my husband. I had friends, but they basically disappeared when I had to leave my job and go on disability. I’d like to think that my many years as a children’s librarian effected some lives, and I know I’d miss all the friends I’ve made here on WordPress, many of whom have definitely made my life better.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. To me, death is not the end. What matters more is not what I leave behind, but what I do next. Life is a river that carves its way through the landscape as it makes its way to the sea. But the river bed is weathered, eroded, it shifts and may be scraped away by larger rivers of ice. In time, even the mountains become soil. The past shapes the future, but doesn’t define it. Since, in time, everything changesโ€”fades, is reduced, lost or forgottenโ€”the preoccupation with leaving a legacy is a distraction I’m happy to live without.

    I know, this probably seems at odds with the desire to write and tell stories. *shrug* I also enjoy paradox.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

