Random Thoughts

Chairs

With Valentine’s Day around the corner, love is in the air (I know, cue the eye rolls). So, I thought I’d share some thoughts about how to appreciate your creative loved ones.

There’s a movie called Phenomenon with a very important message that I think everyone should know. It’s about love, winning the heart of the one you want, and keeping it.

In the movie, the object of the main character’s affection builds chairs. These things are built from twigs of varying sizes. No one buys them, except our hero. And he buys every single one she makes.

In simple terms, he wins her heart because he bought her chairs.

It is that simple.

She created something with her hands. Put her heart and soul into it.

And he bought them.

It didn’t matter if they were comfortable or aesthetically pleasing. They were hers.

People don’t realize how much appreciation matters to creative souls like ours.

If you love a writer, read their work. It’s their soul on those pages. Within those words. Appreciate their words and what they create with them.

If you love an artist, look at their pieces. See the colors they’ve used, the pictures they’ve created. Buy their art and cover your walls with them.

Regardless of their creative outlet, they’ve spent countless hours learning their passion.

Read them, see them, feel them.

Find out what they love. Buy those chairs. Appreciate them.

That will catch their attention.

And that will win their heart.

So, what’s your plan for this Valentine’s Day?

© Sarah Doughty

67 thoughts on “Chairs”

  1. wow,I just found your art ,because you liked one of my very new and few articles! thank you very much ! i just started looking at your writings and they are so true and it can be felt that you write from heart ! thank you again !
    and this article, it is just so well written saying something so simple but yet in a beautiful way :X !
    i think of re-posting it if you allow me . and obviously, if I find out how to haha
    All the best from a soul that is just starting to “build its chairs” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Brilliant! What a simple and wonderful concept.
    There’s so much hate out there for valentines. it’s just a bit of fun in my eyes. I never treat it as a special day just a day to celebrate the concept of loving affection. I’ve never celebrated a valentines day with someone but I’ve always done something to entertain those around me.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this so much!
    And I love how this affirms how great my boyfriend is because he’ll always read my posts (even when I don’t want him to because of how personal they are).
    Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great write for Valentine’s Day! I like the fact you spoke of love in relation to a writers or artists work. I think some of us read something and then just go on, thinking to ourselves that’s nice. But if you just put a like on that something, make a brief comment about it, or buy their product if available, that not only shows support, but a genuine love of their work.
    On a personal note, I will be celebrating the day with my wife. Because we both think every day is Valentine’s Day for us, we aren’t big on the marketing for just that one day, but we do have a special date planned so we seem at least somewhat like a typical couple 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I couldn’t agree more. That’s one of the reasons I decided to share these types of pieces. Some people didn’t feel comfortable commenting because they felt they didn’t know me well enough. 😊 Thanks for sharing your thoughts. And I’m celebrating with my husband similarly to you. We usually do things together as a family. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This really resonated with me as someone who often produces a lot of creative work in the form of drawings and writings. It gives me immense joy simply to have someone notice what I’ve created and enjoy it 🙂 Thanks for providing an interesting perspective this Valentine’s!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This… I had an argument with someone years ago about this… my passion is my life’s work, if you do not care about it, you do not care about me.

    “If you love a writer, read their work. It’s their soul on those pages. Within those words. Appreciate their words and what they create with them.

    If you love an artist, look at their pieces. See the colors they’ve used, the pictures they’ve created. Buy their art and cover your walls with them.

    Regardless of their creative outlet, they’ve spent countless hours learning their passion.”

    This is a great post, Sarah!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Awww thank you! I know it makes sense for people like us, but for people that aren’t creative, it’s hard to describe what it feels like when we’re met with apathy over what we love. I’m hoping that this might reach at least one person that will realize what they need to do. 😊😊 Also, I’m sorry that happened to you. I know how frustrating it is.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. To take a slightly different spin on the same subject, Not Another Happy Ending would be a nice fit. I’m not sure which year it was released, but it is a relatively recent movie. In it, the heroine writes, and releases a bestseller. Her dealings with her publisher are on the rocks and in an effort to complete her second book as part of her contract, she hits a wall. Outwardly it appears as though she happy — new boyfriend, celebrity status, etc. — but she’s not. Her boyfriend is too self absorbed to appreciate her book or why it mattered to her, unlike her publisher, who loved it as much as she did and helped her to make it better. 😊

      Like

  7. Reblogged this on Call to Witness and commented:
    Love is about doing something for somebody, even if you don’t feel like doing it. Love has no conditions that need to be met before it can be given. This kind of love was given to us when Christ came and died for us. Let us follow His example and love as He does for us everyday.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. I like your brief write on this subject. My plan is probably to boycott wordpress for the day. I CAN’T STAND Valentine’s Day. I put it in with holidays like Secretary Appreciation Day, Black History MONTH, St. Patricks Day (really, St. F&^&%$^ng Patrick’s Day!? Oh boy, I will stop now.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

