Almost Lovers

Photo credit @immyy_jadee.

Everything reminds me of you. The breeze in my hair, the twinkling stars, the way we’d laugh and talk about everything and nothing. I felt alive, open, and free, uninhibited by the cruel world. And I know you felt the same. But then the harsh realities set in and I fled. Now I’m left with nothing but those memories and countless questions of what ifs and what could have beens. What if I had the courage to stay? Would we have lasted until we were wrinkled and gray? Would you have continued to make my heart race as only you could? As much as I try not to think of you, I can’t help myself. I’m haunted by all those small things that made us real. When the breeze flows through my hair, I feel you there. It reminds me of all we shared — the good and the bad. I know I wouldn’t trade what we shared for anything. And that thought makes me smile.

© Sarah Doughty

For the #NovemberNotes challenge.
Hosted by myself and Rosema of A Reading Writer.
Today’s song is Almost Lovers by A Fine Frenzy.

64 thoughts on “Almost Lovers

  1. We love not for us, we love for the other person. We love to make the other person the happiest person in the world. We don’t crave love of another person at times, we crave being loved by other people.
    Just a thought!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. here is my contribution, Sarah:

    hunter of gray partridge

    i got a blank cartridge

    filled with love from my heart

    i aimed it at your heart

    pulled the tight trigger through

    guess it didnt go through

    the black bone in your heart

    ricochet broke my heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. brain teaser here. sounds like someone called up the ghost of a dead lover. too many references to living to suggest both aren’t alive. then the shift towards the end marked by the use of ‘us’ twice. the second use of ‘us’ is particularly interesting, “it reminds us of all we shared,” as it suggests both are together – probably upon pining lover dying. but there has been a coming together of sorts. lovers who leave each other don’t think of the good and the bad individually, they do so when they have met – somehow. nice post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

