Poetry

Millenia

After a millenia of memories, cast into the universe, I gathered each one in the palm of my hand. Every star was an epic love, every planet, a hope of something new, every moon, a dream turned into reality. Everything else โ€” the infinite expanse of darkness โ€” was where you belonged. I squeezed out every last bit of your darkness until nothing remained but light.

ยฉ Sarah Doughty

For the Word-High July Prompts
of Filipino words,
hosted by Rosema and Maria.

Gigil – (v.) undeniable urge to pinch or squeeze

55 thoughts on “Millenia”

      1. You’re writing is wonderful, and I apologize that I don’t get around to your blog very often–“old and lacking energy” are my well-worn but true excuses.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Another exceptional piece written by the one and only Sarah. Boy, am I so happy that I came across your blog. Your words keep me coming back for more like a moth to a flame.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. well, hello moon lover. this line ‘killed’ me, “the infinite expanse of darkness โ€” was where you belonged. I squeezed every last bit of your darkness until nothing remained but light.” sheer brilliance!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

