Poetry

Boneyard Sacrifices

My bare feet slice against splintered bones, strewn across the ground like a macabre, snow covered field. I feel the warmth of my blood oozing out of those jagged wounds, but that warmth doesn’t penetrate my frigid, numb flesh. I hear the crunching as those calcified remains crumble beneath me and I begin to smell the copper permeate into the world around me, intoxicating and overwhelming my senses. Lifting my arms toward the full moon, my blood glistening like the night’s dew around me, I make my sacrifice to honor the dead, my ancestors that fill this boneyard. The wind picks up, bristling through the neighboring trees. Then, I begin to hear their whispers.

© Sarah Doughty

For the #MayBookPrompts – Something Wicked This Way Comes
Photo credit Pixabay, the edit is mine.

47 thoughts on “Boneyard Sacrifices”

  1. Firstly….you liked a post I made so you are victim of my pay back and comment clause…and secondly…. So glad I have that policy….the image drew me in and the writing is, well, right up my avenue of creepy so well done you. Alas the commonality of genre dictates I must now follow your blog which is a bonus for me and possibly, not such a bonus for you 🙃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahaha, thank you! I like your clause. And I certainly don’t mind that you feel the need to follow. I appreciate your cheekiness in spite of this eerie tale. I may need to read a little more from you and follow as well! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are most welcome and as a horror fan one does often dip out of the eerie zone now and then to maintain balance. Feel free to peruse my ramblings although it is but a new blog and arose from the ashes of neglect this January past. 🙃

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That is uncommonly kind of you, thus spoke Treebeard in one of my most favourite book/film combos…. I was once told engaging bloggers was a good idea to get into the community aspect. That was back when I stared at mine thinking what the heck is blogging all about. Turned out said person was spot on. Not only does it do a kindness to other people but other people are equally willing to be kind back…this leads to not just followers but also friends. Ergo my clause was born and I’m now really impressed by all the lovely people I find…I mean wher else could you just pop into a totally unknown persons place and strike up a conversation and find a new friend? In the real world here if you tried that in, say, the street they categorise you as potential nutter 🤔

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

