Flash and Micro Fiction

Haunted

If I could take it all back, all the wrong things I ever said, all at the wrong time, those unexpected moments where I bared my soul, I would. In those moments, I was at my most vulnerable, hypnotized by your gaze as it locked with mine. At the time it was exhilarating, to feel you and how those deep eyes saw right through me. But now, I wish I could rewind and stop you from knocking down my defenses and shield myself from the pain of losing you. But I can’t. And I’m haunted by your memory. Haunted by all we were, all we could have been, and everything we lost.

© Sarah Doughty

Leave a Reply

