Flash and Micro Fiction

What We Were

When I close my eyes, I see your beautiful face, lit from within.

I see the brilliance of your eyes, glinting against the dying light of the day.

Memories flash before my eyes. All those moments we ever shared play like movies.

I remember you.

I remember us.

And what we once stood for.

I hold on to those moments. That’s all I have left of us.

Sometimes, when no one is looking, a smile will creep into my lips. Because we were real.

We were right.

And we were epic.

© Sarah Doughty

Leave a Reply

